Home page Strategic domains Map of projects News & Knowledge

Justice for Every Child

The concept of justice for children is a holistic one which seeks to improve respect for international standards for all children who come into contact with the justice and related systems whether as alleged offenders, victims/witnesses, or in relation to their care, custody and protection. Justice for Every Child project (2018-2021) is UNICEF’s project financed by the Swiss and Swedish governments.
Download project factsheet

Justice for Every Child builds on UNICEF’s previous project by capturing the momentum created, consolidating reforms, and ensuring the sustainability of key efforts. It has supported and built on a key milestone: the Republika Srpska, the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Brcko District have adopted comprehensive legislation affecting justice for children— the Law on Protection and Treatment of Juveniles and Children in Criminal Proceedings. Building on these efforts, the Project supports authorities at State, Entity, Cantonal, and Municipal levels to enhance access to protection and services for children at-risk, children in conflict with the law, child victim/witnesses and children in civil proceedings which protect their rights, promote prevention, and reduce offending.

The overall objective of the Justice for Every Child is to improve the application of international standards in BiH so that children at-risk, child victims/witnesses, children involved in civil proceedings, and children in conflict with the law are better served and protected by the justice, security and social welfare sectors.

Strategic Domain Local Governance and Municipal Services
Status Completed
Implementers United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
Partners Republika Srpska, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Projects implemented in Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republika Srpska, Brčko District
Cantons Una-Sana Canton, Tuzla Canton, Zenica-Doboj Canton, Central Bosnia Canton, Herzegovina-Neretva Canton, Sarajevo Canton, Canton 10
Municipalities/Cities Banja Luka, Bihać, Bijeljina, Brčko distrikt, Čapljina, Doboj, Grad Istočno Sarajevo, Grad Sarajevo, Kozarska Dubica, Livno, Mostar, Prijedor, Travnik, Trebinje, Tuzla, Zenica